2016 Faculty and Student Honors


Six IPR faculty were named to the Northwestern Associated Student Government Faculty Honor Roll for 2016–17: Sociologist and African-American studies researcher Celeste-Watkins Hayes, economist and IPR associate William Rogerson, psychologist and IPR associate Robin Nusslock, designer and IPR associate Elizabeth Gerber, journalism professor and IPR associate Craig LaMay, and learning scientist and IPR associate Matthew Easterday.

IPR education researcher and statistician Larry Hedges presented the keynote address at the U.S. Institute of Education Sciences Principal Investigators meeting on December 15.


IPR associates Bernard Black, professor of law and finance, and Carol Lee, professor of human development and social policy, were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Black is the Nicholas D. Chabraja Professor at the Pritzker School of Law and Kellogg School of Management, and Lee is the Edwina S. Tarry Professor of Education and Social Policy.

IPR education researcher and statistician Larry Hedges was elected chairman of the U.S. National Education Sciences Board on November 8.


Geophysicist and IPR associate Seth Stein is president-elect of the American Geophysics Union’s Natural Hazards Focus Group. Stein is the William Deering Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences.

IPR associate David Cella, professor and founding chair of medical social sciences, received the Gustav O. Lienhard Award from the National Academy of Medicine for his work to measure and apply patient-reported outcomes in healthcare. Cella is the Ralph Seal Paffenbarger Professor at the Feinberg School of Medicine.

Two recent studies named education and social policy professor and IPR associate James Spillane as one of the world’s most prominent scholars in education leadership. Spillane is the Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Professor in Learning and Organizational Change.

Psychologist and IPR associate Vijay Mittal received the Federation of Associations in Behavioral & Brain Sciences (FABBS) Early Career Impact Award.


IPR health psychologist Greg Miller and IPR associate David Cella, professor and founding chair of medical social sciences, were named as highly cited researchers by Thomson Reuters.


President Barack Obama reappointed IPR education researcher and statistician Larry Hedges to the National Board for Education Sciences. If confirmed by the Senate, Hedges will again serve as one of 15 voting members of the national board. The board advises and consults with the director of the Institute of Education Sciences (the Department of Education’s research arm) on educational policy and research priorities.

Six IPR faculty members were appointed to named professorships by Northwestern University:

Four faculty members were reappointed to their named professorships:

  • Sandra WaxmanLouis W. Menk Professorship in Psychology
  • Alice EaglyJames Padilla Chair in the Arts and Sciences
  • Seth SteinDeering Professorship in Geological Sciences
  • John HaganJohn D. MacArthur Professor of Sociology and Law


IPR economist Charles F. Manski was named a fellow of the American Statistical Association.

IPR developmental psychologist Lindsay Chase-Lansdale was elected to the Harvard Board of Overseers.

IPR political scientist Daniel Galvin received the Best Paper on Public Policy Award from the Public Policy section of the American Political Science Association for his paper, "Deterring 'Wage Theft': Alt-Labor, State Politics, and the Policy Determinants of Minimum Wage Compliance" (WP-15-08).

Former IPR graduate research assistant Elizabeth Tipton, now at Columbia University, was awarded the American Educational Research Association’s Early Career Award for Quantitative Research in Education for 2016.


Mechanical engineering professor and IPR associate Elizabeth Gerber and communication studies researcher and IPR associate Daniel O'Keefe received 2016 Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence awards.


IPR social psychologist Jennifer Richeson was inducted into the National Academy of Sciences on April 30.

Law professor and IPR associate Leonard Rubinowitz received the Joyce A. Hughes Legacy Award from the Black Law Students Association. 

Law professor and IPR associate Max Schanzenbach was invested as the Seigle Family Chair of Law at Northwestern's Pritzker School of Law.


IPR Director and education economist David Figlio gave the Presidential Address at the 41st annual conference of the Association for Education Finance and Policy.

IPR sociologist and African American studies researcher Celeste Watkins-Hayes delivered the Doris P. Slesinger Lecture at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The Society for Research on Educational Effectiveness recognized IPR statistician and education researcher Larry V. Hedges by naming a lecture in his honor. Hedges gave the inaugural lecture on March 3 in Washington, D.C. 

IPR communication studies researcher Eszter Hargittai received the 2016 Public Sociology Award from the Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology section of the American Sociological Association.


Four IPR faculty were named to the Edu-Scholar Top 200 list, a list developed by Frederick Hess of the American Enterprise Institute to highlight scholars with the greatest influence on public discussion of education during the past year. IPR Director and education economist David Figlio, IPR labor and education economist Kirabo Jackson, education professor and IPR associate James Spillane, and professor of human development and social policy and IPR associate Carol Lee all made this year's list.

Professor of human development and social policy and IPR associate Carol Lee was named to the board of directors of the National Academy of Education, a prestigious organization of 200 U.S. members dedicated to advancing high-quality education research and its use in policy formation. 

Thomson Reuters named David Cella, professor and founding chair of medical social sciences and IPR associate, one of 2015’s most highly cited researchers. 

IPR psychologist Alice Eagly was awarded the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award from the Society of Personality and Social Psychology, Attitudes & Social Influence Interest Group.