Skip to main content

Staff Directory

IPR’s administrative leaders guide and enable the Institute’s mission of interdisciplinary research for the common good.

IPR administration and contact information
Name Phone Email

Andrew Papachristos
Director and the John G. Searle Professor
of Sociology

847.491.8704

 avp@northwestern.edu

Laurel Harbridge-Yong
Associate Director (starting Sept. 1) and
Professor of Political Science

 847.467.1147

 l-harbridge@northwestern.edu

Francesca Gaiba
Senior Director of Operations and Outreach
and IPR Research Professor

847.467.0528

gaiba@northwestern.edu

Eric Betzold
Business Administrator

847.491.8707

betzold@northwestern.edu

Patricia Reese
Director of Communications

847.491.8712 p-reese@northwestern.edu

 




IPR's core administrative staff support faculty research and run labs, manage and promote events, and communicate and publish findings.

IPR administrative staff and contact information
Name Phone Email

Judy Alspach
Research Finance Assistant

847.467.4041

judith.alspach@northwestern.edu

Nick Benson
Program Assistant

 847.491.8704

 nicholas.benson@northwestern.edu

Christen Gall
Senior Communications Coordinator

847.467.7858

christen.gall@northwestern.edu

Young Kasarski
Senior Research Administrator

847.491.7952

young.kasarski@northwestern.edu

Mauve Kay
Assistant to the Director

847.491.4121

mauve@northwestern.edu

Carey Mark
Technical Support Specialist

847.467.6670

carey.mark@northwestern.edu

Lily Schaffer
Communications Coordinator

 

847.491.7952

lily.schaffer@northwestern.edu

Daniel Watson
Assistant Research Administrator

847.467.7571

daniel.watson@northwestern.edu

Lex Winter
Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications

847.491.2597

lex.winter@northwestern.edu

IPR research staff manage and coordinate faculty-directed research projects and labs.

IPR research staff and contact information
Name Phone Email

Noah Anderson
Research Data Analyst Associate
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

noah.anderson@northwestern.edu

 

Alex Ben Ghanem
Research Data Analyst
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

alex.benghanem@northwestern.edu

 

Hilary Bethancourt
Research Associate

hjbethancourt@u.northwestern.edu 

Susan Burtner
Scientific Director
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

susan.burtner@northwestern.edu

Defne Cezayirli
Research Study Assistant 

defne-cezayirli@northwestern.edu

Jamela Clark
Research Project Manager
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

jamela.clark@northwestern.edu

 

Maia Connors
Executive Director
EC*REACH, the Early Childhood Research Alliance of Chicago

maia.connors@northwestern.edu

Sophie Dara
Research Data Analyst Associate
at EC*REACH & CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

 

sophie.dara@northwestern.edu

Denali Dasgupta
Director of Data & Research Partnerships
EC*REACH, the Early Childhood Research Alliance of Chicago

 

denali.dasgupta@northwestern.edu

Johanna Dezil
Research Project Manager
Foundations of Health Research Center

847.467.5650

johanna.dezil@northwestern.edu

Angela D'Souza
Associate Director of Research Programs
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

amdsouza@northwestern.edu 

Claire Fisher
Research Project Coordinator
Foundations of Health Research Center

claire.fisher@northwestern.edu 

Nicholas Ames Fleming
Research Data Analyst Associate

nick.fleming@northwestern.edu

Sarah Germer
Research Study Assistant 
Foundations of Health Research Center

sarah.germer@northwestern.edu

 

Trinh Ha
Research Study Assistant

trinh.ha@northwestern.edu

Robin Hayen
Research Project Coordinator 
Foundations of Health Research Center

 robin.hayen@northwestern.edu

Jungwon Kim
Research Technologist II
Foundations of Health Research Center

jungwon.kim@northwestern.edu

Christopher Klager
Research Associate
STEPP Center

 klager@northwestern.edu

Nina Kougan
Research Study Assistant

 

ninakougan@northwestern.edu

Jayson Law
Research Study Assistant
Foundations of Health Research Center

 

jayson.law@northwestern.edu

Azucena Lopez
Research Project Manager 
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

azucena.lopez@northwestern.edu 

Valerie Lyne
Research Study Coordinator
Quasi-Experimental Design and Analysis in Education

847.467.4001

v-lyne@northwestern.edu

Alantha Miles
Research Project Coordinator
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

 

Hee Moon
Research Technologist II
Foundations of Health Research Center

Vanessa Obi
Research Study Coordinator, Sr
Foundations of Health Research Center

vanessa.obi@northwestern.edu 

Naomi Ostrander
Research Project Coordinator
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

naomi-ostrander@northwestern.edu 

Veronica Passarelli
Research Technologist III
Foundations of Health Research Center

 veronica.passarelli@northwestern.edu

Katie Pelech
Research Project Manager 
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

Adam Pittman
Research Associate
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

adam.pittman@northwestern.edu

 

Arthur Raines
Research Data Analyst Associate
EC*REACH, the Early Childhood Research Alliance of Chicago

arthur.raines@northwestern.edu

 

Milan Rivas
Research Data Analyst Associate
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

Marisa Ross
Director of Research and Policy
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

marisa.ross@northwestern.edu

Kelley Sarussi
Database Systems Engineer
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

kelley.sarussi@northwestern.edu

Katharina Seitz
Research Study Assistant

katharina.seitz@northwestern.edu

Akeem Shepherd
Research Project Coordinator
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

Karen Smith
Senior Program Coordinator
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

Georgia Tankard
Research Project Coordinator
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

Helena Thomas
Research Project Manager
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

helena.thomas@northwestern.edu

Ashley Uphoff
Research Study Coordinator Senior

ashley.uphoff@northwestern.edu 

Tianshi Wang
Research Study Coordinator Senior

TianshiWang2022@u.northwestern.edu 

Rebecca Weiland
Assistant Director
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

847.467.1755

rebecca.weiland@northwestern.edu 

Dallas Wright
Research Project Manager
CORNERS, the Center for Neighborhood Engaged Research & Science

847.491.1206

dallas.wright@northwestern.edu