2017 Faculty and Student Honors



IPR sociologist and African-American studies researcher Celeste Watkins-Hayes was named an associate vice president for research at Northwestern.

IPR political scientist Daniel Galvin received a Russell Sage Foundation Presidential Authority award for his research on the changing nature of workers' rights.

IPR developmental psychologist Lindsay Chase-Lansdale was named Vice Provost for Academics, effective December 1. She has served as Associate Provost for Faculty since 2013.

IPR health psychologists Edith Chen and Greg Miller were invested as the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Chair and Louis W. Menk Chair, respectively, in the Department of Psychology.

Healthcare economist and IPR associate Craig Garthwaite was appointed to the Herman Smith Research Professorship in Hospital and Health Services Management.

Morton Schapiro, Northwestern president and IPR economist, received the Kohl Education Prize from the Dolores Kohl Education Foundation.


IPR developmental psychologist Emma Adam received a $1 million, five-year Lyle Spencer Research Award to study the relationship between race-based stress and achievement gaps.

Health disparities scholar and IPR associate Melissa Simon was named the recipient of the Marion Spencer Fay Award in recognition of her contributions to women’s health, health equity, and national health policy.

IPR psychologist Alice Eagly was named the Heidi Fritz-Neggli Visiting Professor at the University of Zurich.


IPR associate Teresa Woodruff, the Thomas J. Watkins Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and director of the Women’s Health Research Institute at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, has been named dean of The Graduate School and associate provost for graduate education at Northwestern, effective Sept. 1.

Developmental psychologist and IPR associate Terri Sabol was named an early career fellow by the American Educational Research Association and the Society for Research on Child Development.

Developmental psychologist and IPR associate Claudia Haase was awarded the 2017 NARSAD Young Investigator Grant from the Behavior and Brain Research Foundation.


IPR Business Director Eric Betzold was named Northwestern University's 2017 Employee of the Year.

IPR associate Brian Mustanski, professor of medical social sciences, was chosen for NBC News' #Pride30 list of 30 LGBTQ people making a positive difference in the community.

Katie Rim won the William H. Hunt Award for the best undergraduate paper in Northwestern's Department of Psychology. Her thesis was based on research started as a Summer Undergraduate Research Assistant with developmental psychologist and IPR associate Claudia Haase.


Five IPR faculty members received W Awards from the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences: Anthropologist and IPR associate Katherine Amato, IPR anthropologists Christopher Kuzawa and Thomas McDade, psychologist and IPR associate Vijay Mittal, and IPR developmental psychologist Onnie Rogers

Sociologist and IPR associate John Hagan was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.


Oncofertility specialist and IPR associate Teresa Woodruff was named a 2017 Guggenheim Fellow

IPR economist Charles F. Manski was named a Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association.

IPR faculty emeritus John Heinz and his wife Anne received a Superior Achievement Award from the Illinois State Historical Society for their book, Women, Work, and Worship in Lincoln's Country: The Dumville Family Letters. Read more about the book here.

Carol Lee, professor of human development and social policy and IPR associate, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Contributions to Social Contexts in Education Research from the American Educational Research Association.


Former IPR graduate research assistant Mollie McQuillan received the Presidential Fellowship from Northwestern's Graduate School.

IPR Director David Figlio, an education economist, and Northwestern University President and IPR economist Morton Schapiro were elected to the National Academy of Education.

IPR economist Charles F. Manski presented "Communicating Uncertainty in Policy Analysis" as the Distinguished Hooker Visiting Professor at McMaster University on March 9.


IPR developmental psychologist Onnie Rogers was appointed to the board of directors for the National Black Child Development Institute.

IPR associate Melissa Simon, an obstetrics and gynecology professor, was appointed to the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.


IPR developmental psychologist Onnie Rogers was named a Rising Star by the Association for Psychological Science.