2014 Faculty Honors


Professor and founding chair of medical social sciences and IPR associate David Cella was awarded the John Ware and Alvin Tarlov Career Achievement Prize at the International Society of Quality of Health conference in Rio de Janeiro on October 6. The international award, given by the Health Assessment Lab/Medical Outcomes Trust, honors leaders in the development, promotion, and education of patient-reported outcome measures.

Social psychologist and IPR associate Eli Finkel was named the Martin J. and Patricia Koldyke Outstanding Teaching Professor for 2014–2016 by the Northwestern University Board of Trustees on October 8.

IPR education researcher and statistician Larry Hedges received the the Sells Award for Distinguished Multivariate Research on October 11. The award is the highest honor bestowed by the Society of Multivariate Experimental Psychology and recognizes distinguished lifetime achievement in the field of multivariate experimental psychology.

IPR social psychologist Thomas Cook gave the 2014 Annual Sidney Ball Memorial Lecture at Oxford University in Oxford, England on October 20. Cook’s speech was entitled “The Major Assumptions of Evidence-Based Policy: Bringing Empirical Evidence to Bear.” The lecture series began in 1920, and has featured John Maynard Keynes, as well as members of the British Academy and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  


The American Sociological Association (ASA) presented sociologist and IPR associate Heather Schoenfeld and Michael Campbell of the University of Missouri with the 2014 Distinguished Article Award for the Sociology of Law section. The award recognized the researchers’ article, “The Transformation of America’s Penal Order: A Historical Politicized Sociology of Punishment,” at the ASA’s annual meeting in San Francisco in August. 

The Academy of Management’s Network of Leadership Scholars awarded IPR psychologist Alice Eagly the Eminent Leadership Scholar Award on August 3 at its annual conference. It recognizes Eagly’s career contributions to the study of leadership. After receiving her award, Eagly lectured on "Has Anything Changed for Women as Leaders?"

IPR sociologist Lincoln Quillian’s article, “Segregation and Poverty Concentration: The Role of Three Segregations,” won the American Sociological Association’s 2014 Jane Addams Award. In it, Quillian helps to expand current understanding of concentrated poverty in minority communities by revealing a third type of segregation in addition to racial and economic segregation—the segregation of upper- and middle-income members of other racial groups from black and Hispanic neighborhoods. The award is presented for the best research in community and urban sociology published in the last two years.

IPR economist Matthew Notowidigdo received the Hicks-Tinbergen Award for his article, co-authored with Amy Finkelstein of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Erzo Luttmer of Dartmouth University, “What Good Is Wealth Without Health? The Effect of Health on the Marginal Utility of Consumption.” In the article, the researchers examine whether being in good or bad health affects a person’s consumption of goods and services by using a novel model that includes measures of subjective well-being, or “happiness.” The Hicks-Tinbergen award is presented every two years to the authors of an outstanding article published in the Journal of the European Economic Association (JEEA). The EAA presented the award at its annual conference, held on August 25-29, 2014, in Toulouse, France. Watch a video of Notowidigdo speaking about the article here.


IPR economist Charles F. Manski was one of 59 distinguished scholars and honorary members elected to the British Academy at its annual meeting on July 17. As the U.K.’s national independent academy, it seeks to recognize and support outstanding research in the humanities and social sciences, both in the United Kingdom and abroad. Manski was elected to the economics and economic history section as a corresponding fellow, or one who lives outside of the U.K. at the time of his or her election.


Sociologist and IPR associate Heather Schoenfeld and Michael Campbell of the University of Missouri earned an honorable mention from the Law and Society Association at its annual meeting in Minneapolis this May. The researchers' were recognized for their article, "The Transformation of America’s Penal Order: A Historical Politicized Sociology of Punishment.”

IPR Assistant Director and political scientist James Druckman received the 2014 Walder Award for Research Excellence, given by Northwestern University Provost Daniel Linzer.


IPR Director and education economist David Figlio was voted president-elect of the Association for Education Finance and Policy at its annual conference in March.

IPR health psychologist Greg Miller was elected president of the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research for 2015–16.


IPR economist Jonathan Guryan was named to the Purpose Economy 100 for his research on prize-linked savings accounts. Celebrating new economy "pioneers," the list also includes Melinda Gates, Al Gore, and Arianna Huffington. 


IPR associate and earth/planetary scientist Seth Stein received the 2014 Price Medal from the U.K.'s Royal Astronomical Society for his groundbreaking achievements in plate tectonics, seismology, and space geodesy.