2012 Faculty Honors


IPR social psychologist Alice Eagly was presented with an honorary doctorate from Erasmus University Rotterdam in the Netherlands on Thursday, November 8. She was also selected as a recipient of the Women with Vision Award from the Women's Bar Association of Illinois.

IPR social psychologist Thomas D. Cook received the 2012 Peter H. Rossi Award from the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management at its annual meeting on November 9 in Baltimore. The Rossi Award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation.


Three IPR faculty members have were inducted as elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on October 6. They were IPR political scientist James Druckman, IPR psychologist Alice Eagly, and Shari Seidman Diamond, a law professor, social psychologist, and IPR associate.


IPR political scientist Daniel Galvin received the 2012 Emerging Scholar Award from the American Political Science Association's section on Political Organizations and Parties. The award is given annually for significant research conducted by a scholar who received his or her doctorate within the past five years.

The Cambridge Handbook of Experimental Science, co-edited by IPR political scientist James Druckman, received the Robert E. Lane Award for the best book published in 2011 from the Political Psychology section of the American Political Science Association (APSA). The book was also selected by APSA's section on Experimental Research to receive its 2011 Best Book Award, given to the best book published that either uses or is about experimental research methods in the study of politics. Druckman also received APSA's 2011 Best Paper on Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior Award for “Framing and Biased Information Search,” co-authored with Jordan Fein and Thomas Leeper.


The Federal Trade Commission has appointed healthcare economist and IPR associate Leemore Dafny as Deputy Director for Health Care and Antitrust of the FTC's Bureau of Economics. She will assume the newly created position, designed to enhance the agency's efforts to promote competition in the healthcare sector, on August 1.


IPR education economist David Figlio was the recipient of this year's Outstanding Professor Award from Northwestern's School of Education and Social Policy.


IPR Director Fay Lomax Cook delivered the keynote talk at an international conference on social security and aging on May 21 at Zhejiang University in Hangzhou, China.

Sociologist and IPR associate Héctor Carillo was selected to be a 2012-13 fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, which supports the work of 50 fellows annually in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.


IPR political scientist James Druckman and sociologist and IPR associate Steven Epstein have been named 2012 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellows. The Foundation offers fellowships to assist the research of scholars and artists who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship in their field.


IPR sociologist Lincoln Quillian has been named a Russell Sage Foundation Fellow for the 2012-13 academic year. The award gives visiting scholars the opportunity to pursue their research at the foundation in New York City.

After-School Centers and Youth Development: Case Studies of Success and Failure, written by social policy professor and IPR associate Barton Hirsch with Nancy Deutsch and David DuBois, won the 2012 Society for Research on Adolescence book award for best multi-authored volume. Read more here.


IPR developmental psychologist Lindsay Chase-Lansdale was named one of 20 inaugural Ascend Fellows by the Aspen Institute. An expert on the interface between research and social policy for children and families, she joins a select group of leaders and researchers from around the nation who are pioneering dual-generation approaches to move families out of poverty. Read the article.